top of page

Building Blocks

I have finished Week Two out here in Indiana, Pennsylvania and it has definitely been the most build-heavy so far! We of the scene team have constructed and put up the walls/towers on the stage, of which I built all of the 4X4 flats used on the set. Another large undertaking this week was beginning the base of what will be a 16 foot tall tree; I actually used the panel cutter, jig-saw, and sander to create the wooden semicircular base. Also during this time, the scenic team and I are working on creating props and set pieces that cannot be found in a store. These pieces include a staff for the character Jafar in Aladdin Jr and a canopy for the wedding of characters Tzeitel and Motel in Fiddler on the Roof Jr. Aside from the build processes in the shop, I had the opportunity this week to work with our Lighting Designer/Master Electrician! I assisted in hanging, circuiting, and focusing the lights that will illuminate the upcoming productions.

For the Players, our wonderful Footlight performers and backstage crew, they have continued rehearsals to begin tech week in three days! This past week's Wacky Wednesday theme was "Superheroes," where the Players were encouraged to dress up as their favorite superheroes, or create an original superhero. I "dressed up" with a Wonder Woman t-shirt (see the picture below!) that had a detachable cape, so I could safely work in the shop while having a fun touch outside of the shop.

Outside of the work space, I had a wonderful time going to The Meadows, a frozen custard shop in Indiana, with my fellow coworkers and mentor! We were able to "chill" out and prepare ourselves for next week. Picture below!

Today is extra special because the Academy is having a lock-in! Starting at 7PM, all Academy members are invited to stay locked in Waller Hall, the theatre building, until 9AM! Activities will include a "man-hunt" game, a ghost walk, board games, two separate spaces for movie-goers, sunrise yoga, and of course, an area for anyone looking to take a nap.

Thank you for staying with me on my journey, readers, and keep a look out for my next update for my adventures from the lock-in!

Before ...

... After!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me!
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page