top of page

Semester Happenings


Isabella Anderson

Well, it is the middle of the semester and things are definitely flying by. I am singing in NIU Concert Choir, will be featured in the NIU Opera Scenes, and am friends with friends from all over the world! Including but limited to friends from South Korea, Trinidad and Tobago, Germany, and all over these United States.

Grad student life is definitely different, and harder, than undergraduate life HOWEVER I'm loving every minute. I can already feel myself becoming a better singer and artist thanks to my continued education.

Last month, I lived a dream and saw Hamilton at the CIBC Theatre in Chicago!! Absolutely gorgeous and amazing -- I took my dad with me as a present for his 50th birthday :) I also went to the local county Pumpkinfest.

Since this year marks Leonard Bernstein's 100th birthday, the choir did a tribute concert, and I happily sang the soprano solo for his Chichester Psalms. We also had music from West Side Story and Candide ... An absolutely gorgeous and fun concert!

Since NIU is right here in my hometown, DeKalb, it's also nice to be living at home again in a ... I dislike using the same word again, but simply DIFFERENT capacity.

Anyway, one of DeKalb's treasures is the historic Egyptian Theatre, and I've already taken advantage of having a theatre right around the corner to go see The High Kings! An amazing Irish group that performed so many fun, original songs.

What will the last of the semester bring? An opera performance, to be sure! Anything else along the way ... well ... you'll have to stick around to find out ;)

Isabella Anderson

Isabella Anderson

Isabella Anderson

Isabella Anderson

Isabella Anderson

Isabella Anderson

Isabella Anderson


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me!
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page