top of page

One (Show) Day More ...


 Friday night and Saturday shows have all been completed! All of the shows in Footlight are only an act long; so, the first "act" is a Camper show while the second "act" transitions into an Academy performance for a full two hours of productions. For the Friday night and Saturday matinee productions, Campers performed the devise piece Secret Wonders of the World, and the Academy performed Fiddler on the Roof Jr. Tonight's show and tomorrow's matinee will consist of the Camper performance of Aladdin Jr. and an adapted script of Aristophanes' The Birds.

Being on a backstage headset is an adventure! Over headset, all sound/light board operators, backstage left/right supervisors, and the Stage Manager can assess and call cues to keep the show running smoothly for the performance. I look forward to assisting my last two shows tomorrow!

During these productions, I have been amazed by the skill and commitment shown by the Players and by my fellow colleagues. Together, the team has been putting shows onstage that family, friends, and the community support and enjoy watching.

While shows may finish tomorrow, strike begins on Monday! During strike, all of the remnants of the stage, lights, sound, and other production elements are all taken down and put away to leave a blank slate for the next group to use. It will definitely be a bittersweet experience, but one I won't forget.

The last thought in my mind has been my compensation during this internship, because I know that this experience only marks the beginning of my theatre season. Every cent that I receive from my work is going straight into the budget for what will be my senior theatre capstone production of Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street. This year, I have been informed that my department cannot financially support my academic endeavor; thus, I have been fundraising and working to put together a feasible budget to make my dream a reality. Readers, if you would like to help, please take a look at the links on my website.

Please stay updated as I finish my last few precious days at Footlight here in Indiana, Pennsylvania! In this post are pictures I have taken in town, or from the set.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me!
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page